Cheez Its is a popular snack made from cheese, wheat, and other ingredients. While the ingredients used to make Cheez Its may vary slightly from product to product, the question arises is Cheez Its halal?
No doubt Cheez its is a delicious snack and has been enjoyed by people of all backgrounds.
However, due to the different types of ingredients used in Cheez Its and no halal certification on the packaging, Muslims may be unsure if Cheez Its is permissible to consume.
Therefore, in this article, we will answer are Cheez Its halal with a comprehensive look at the ingredients in Cheez Its, and research into various other things.
Are Cheez Its Halal
There is no clear cut answer as to whether Cheez Its are halal or haram. If you ask our opinion, we recommend that Muslims avoid eating Cheez Its unless they are sure of its halal status.
The ingredients used in making Cheez Its are different in different products. Generally, the most common ingredients in Cheez Its are wheat flour, vegetable oil, cornstarch, salt, and sugar.
Most of the ingredients used in Cheez Its are derived from plant sources and herbs, which may be considered halal according to Islamic law.
However, some of the ingredients used in Cheez Its may not be considered halal such as rennet or animal derived enzymes.
But, in a talk with the company, they said they don’t use animal derived enzymes. Their enzymes are plant-based.
Till now, everything seems to be halal as no animal derived ingredients are used. Here most of the website owners state that Cheez It is halal without proper research and information.
However, there is no universal certified Islamic halal certification on Cheez Its packaging that can confirm its status. And it is necessary to look at the ingredients and other factors to determine if it is halal.
However, many brands sell halal products without a proper halal label on their packaging, but they do answer that they have halal certification with proof on their website or social media handles.
Whereas, by asking Cheez its, they only say that their enzymes are plant based and we can’t provide any other information.
And the main point where our research team got struck is that in Jan-27-2021, the company Tweeted, “We’re getting more halal certified demanding from the USA with a growing number of customers, so we’re working on it.”
Tweet Screenschot Proof:
And now, even in 2023, there is no update from their side, or their packaging is not showing any certified halal logo.
So, this creates a room of doubt in our mind that when they are getting more customers asking for halal certificates, why they are not being certified yet.
If you’re a clever person, you must have found out the conclusion yourself. And this is why we recommend Muslims should avoid eating Cheez Its unless they are absolutely sure of its halal status.
Until then, we can’t say that Cheez it is halal or haram.
If you like Pastrami, you might like reading is Pastrami halal.
The ingredients used in making Cheez Its vary from product to product.
Generally, the most common ingredients are wheat flour, vegetable oil, cornstarch, salt, and sugar.
In some cases, enzymes such as rennet may be used to create a smoother texture in the cheese. However, the company states that the enzymes used are plant-based and not animal-derived.
So if we look at the ingredients list we’re provided on the packaging, it seems to be halal, but they also stated that we use some hidden ingredients that we can’t mention on the list.
Therefore, Muslims need to understand that not only look for the ingredients list provided on the packaging. Make sure they are either halal certified with a label on the packing or the company has provided proof of their halal certification on their website or social media handles.
If you like Dave’s Hot Chicken you must read is Dave’s Hot Chicken halal.
Q. Does Cheez-It have pork enzymes?
A. No, Cheez It does not contain pork enzymes. The company states that the enzymes used are plant-based and not animal-derived.
Q. Are Cheez Its halal In USA?
A. No, Cheez Its are currently not halal-certified in the United States. The company has stated that they are working on becoming certified, but there is no update on when they will be certified for 3 years.
The ingredients used in Cheez Its are mostly plant-based and may be considered halal. However, the company is yet to get certified halal, and there is no universal certified Islamic halal certification on Cheez Its packaging to confirm its status.
Therefore, we recommend that Muslims avoid eating Cheez Its unless they are sure of its halal status.
We hope this article has provided you with a clear answer on are Cheez its halal or not.
May Allah (SWT) grant us all the wisdom to choose the best and halal-only food. Amen.