Are you confused about whether feast ice cream is halal or haram according to Islamic laws? You’re not alone.
Since the company has not released a clear statement on its halal status, it is common for people to be unsure what to believe.
And being a Muslim, you need to know what is and isn’t allowed according to Islamic laws.
In this blog post, we’ll answer is Feast ice cream halal or haram in the UK with proof. We’ll also look deeper into the ingredients used, what the company has to say, and more.
So let’s clear the doubt.
Is Feast Ice Cream Halal?
The short answer is No, Feast ice cream is not halal according to Islamic law. The company uses non-halal ingredients such as Emulsifiers and stabilizers.
Although, Emulsifiers and stabilizers can be halal or haram depending on the source, as they can be derived from both plant and animal sources.
But in the case of Feast ice cream, there has yet to be proof that the company uses only halal sources for their Emulsifiers and stabilizers.
Furthermore, the company has no halal or vegan certification for its product, which further complicates the matter.
And by deep research, we found all other ingredients are halal, but only these two ingredients can derive from animal sources, making it a big no for Muslims who follow Islam strictly.
Although the company has not mentioned anything about the source of this ingredient, but we can’t consider it halal.
This is because the company has clearly mentioned their product is not vegan on their website. This clearly shows that when all other ingredients are halal, and only these two can be derived from animal sources, it is considered not halal.
You might also like knowing is magnum ice cream halal.
Ingredients Of Feast Ice Cream Which Makes It Haram
If you want to understand why Feast ice cream is haram, then you need to look at the ingredients list.
The main ingredients used in every Feast ice cream flavor are:
- Coconut oil
- Glucose syrup
- Glucose-fructose syrup
- Skimmed MILK powder
- WHEAT flour
- Fat-reduced cocoa powder
- Emulsifiers (SOYBEAN lecithin, mono-and diglycerides of fatty acids)
- Whey solids (MILK)
- Stabilizers (guar gum, locust bean gum)
- Raising agent (ammonium hydrogen carbonate)
So these are some of the main ingredients which are used in Feast ice cream, and among them, Emulsifiers (SOYBEAN lecithin, mono-and diglycerides of fatty acids) and Stabilisers (guar gum, locust bean gum) are the two ingredients that can be derived from an animal source.
And since the company has no certification to prove that these ingredients are sourced from halal sources, we can’t consider it a halal product.
You should know that Emulsifiers derived from animal fats are used in most ice creams and other dairy products, so it’s important to read the labels carefully to ensure your food is halal.
You can also see is cream cheese halal.
More Reason For Feast Ice Cream To Be Haram
If you think that just ingredients are the only factor for something to be halal, then you’re wrong.
Food can also be declared haram if made with utensils, machines, or equipment used previously to cook food items that are not Halal.
As Feast ice cream is a mass producer and sold in Supermarkets, their ice creams are also produced and packaged in the same machines and equipment that can be used to produce other non-halal products.
So this is yet another factor why Feast ice cream cannot be considered halal or vegan according to Islamic laws.
However, note that this is not true for all brands, some companies have separate utensils and equipment to produce halal products.
But if the Feast itself declares its ice cream to be non-vegan and not gluten free, then it’s safe to say that its ice cream is not halal.
Also, the companies producing halal food will usually have some form of certification to prove that their products are halal, such as Halal Certification from one of the many Islamic organizations.
This way, they can also attract more customers, as many Muslims prefer to buy halal products only.
But this is not the case with Feast ice cream; hence, it cannot be considered a halal product.
Also see is jam halal.
Q. Is feast halal?
A. No, feast ice cream is not considered halal according to Islamic laws because the company has no certification that its ingredients are sourced from halal sources, and its machines and equipment can also be used to produce non-halal products.
Q. Is Feast ice cream suitable for vegetarians?
A. No, Feast ice cream is not suitable for vegetarians because the company has clearly mentioned their product is not vegan on their website.
Q. What is Feast ice cream made of?
A. Feast ice cream is made of milk, sugar, salt, coconut oil, glucose syrup, glucose-fructose syrup, skimmed milk powder, wheat flour, fat-reduced cocoa powder, emulsifiers (soybean lecithin & mono-and diglycerides of fatty acids), whey solids (milk), stabilizers (guar gum & locust bean gum), flavoring, and raising agent (ammonium hydrogen carbonate).
For Muslims, it’s important to know what is and what isn’t allowed according to Islamic laws.
In this blog post, we have answered the question “Is Feast ice cream halal” with proof from the company itself.
We have also looked into the ingredients used and why they are not considered halal according to Islamic laws.
We would also recommend reading labels carefully when buying food items, as some companies do use halal sources for their ingredients but don’t have any certification to prove it.
In the end, we would like to reiterate that Feast ice cream is not considered halal according to Islamic laws, and hence it should be avoided if you are a Muslim. We hope this blog post has clarified your doubts on the topic.