Orbit is a well-known brand of chewing gum that has been around for decades. However, many Muslims wonder if Orbit gum is halal due to no clear indication or certification from the company.
For Muslims, it is important to ensure that any food or drink they consume is halal, and this includes chewing gum.
So if you like Orbit gum but want to ensure you’re eating something halal, you’re in the right place.
In this article, we’ll answer is Orbit gum halal and what ingredients Orbit gum contains. We’ll also clear all the related queries about Orbit gum. So let’s dive right in.
Is Orbit Gum Halal
Yes, Orbit gum is halal and safe to consume, considering its ingredients, provided all the ingredients are obtained from halal sources.
Orbit gum does not contain any pork-related or haram ingredients. All of the ingredients used in Orbit gum are vegetarian-friendly and don’t contain any animal byproducts such as gelatin or glycerin that are derived from animals.
The Orbit gum is not certified halal because the company might not have applied for it. However, they also don’t need to get halal certification as the ingredients are already halal in nature.
Also, the Orbit gum is vegan certified with a clear logo on the packaging. So, we can say the product has no animal source, and it is halal.
The doubt of being halal or haram for orbit gum arises because of the presence of Glycerol in it. Glycerol is a polyhydric alcohol that can be derived from plants or animal fats and oils or synthetically. But the glycerol used in Orbit gum is derived from plant-based sources.
Therefore, Orbit gum is halal and safe to consume for Muslims.
Still, to be on the safe side, we’ll recommend consuming only vegan-certified Orbit gum products to ensure the product does not contain any animal-based ingredients.
Orbit gum comes in different flavors: sweet mint, winter mint, spearmint, strawberry, peppermint, cinnamon, blackcurrant, and bubble mint.
Most of these flavors are vegetarian-friendly and don’t contain any animal byproducts or haram ingredients. But with time, the company might introduce new flavors which might contain haram ingredients.
So, make sure to check the product label and its ingredients list before consuming any Orbit gum.
If you like Extra Gum, you can read is Extra Gum halal.
What Ingredients Does Orbit Gum Contain?
Orbit gum contains a number of ingredients according to the flavor of the gum. In general, all Orbit gums contain the following ingredients:
- Sorbitol (E420)
- Gum Base
- Glycerol (E422)
- Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate
- Natural and Artificial Flavours
- Colour (Gelatin-Free)
- Acesulfame Potassium (E950)
- Aspartame (E951)
- BHT (E321)
The gum base is a natural product derived from plant sources and is vegetarian-friendly. This gum base is the main ingredient that gives Orbit its signature soft and chewy texture.
Sorbitol (E420), hydrogenated starch hydrolysate (E1422), and glycerol (E422) are all polyhydric alcohols derived from plant-based sources. All of these ingredients are vegetarian-friendly and halal.
The natural and artificial flavors of Orbit gum can be derived from plant-based and animal sources. So it is important to check the product label and its ingredients list before consuming any Orbit gum as it may contain haram ingredients.
Acesulfame Potassium (E950) and Aspartame (E951) are artificial sweeteners derived from plant-based sources and considered halal.
BHT (E321) is a preservative that is considered halal.
You might also like knowing is Xanthan gum halal.
Q. Is orbit gum halal in USA?
A. Yes, Orbit gum is halal in the USA as long as the ingredients used are obtained from halal sources and there are no haram or pork-related ingredients.
Q. Is orbit sweet mint gum halal?
A. Yes, Orbit sweet mint gum is halal, as the ingredients used are obtained from halal sources. Also, it is certified vegan on the packaging.
Q. Does orbit gum have gelatin?
A. No, Orbit gum contains no gelatin or other animal-based ingredient.
Q. Does orbit gum have alcohol in it?
A. No, Orbit gum does not contain any alcohol. The polyhydric alcohols used in Orbit gum are derived from plant-based sources.
Q. Which Orbit gum is halal?
A. All of the Orbit gums that are labeled vegan are halal as long as the ingredients used are obtained from halal sources.
Q. Is Orbit gum kosher?
A. Yes, Orbit gum is kosher, as per the Kosher Federation of London. The ingredients used are all obtained from plant-based sources, and there are no pork-related or haram ingredients.
To sum up, we can conclude that Orbit gum is halal and safe to consume as long as the ingredients used are obtained from halal sources.
All of the ingredients used in Orbit gum are vegetarian-friendly and don’t contain any animal byproducts or haram ingredients. The vegan certification also ensures there are no animal-based ingredients in the product.
Just make sure to check the product label and its ingredients list before consuming any Orbit gum, as it may change with time.
We hope that this article has answered your questions is Orbit gum halal or haram in Islam. Please let us know in the comments section below if you have any further queries.