It’s no secret that Magnum ice cream is a favorite treat of many people. But when it comes to the question of whether or not Magnum ice cream is halal, there are some conflicting answers.
To answer this question, knowing the ingredients used in Magnum ice cream and the certification is important.
We’ll it is not possible for everyone to go through the ingredients list every time and do deep research on certification. That would take a lot of effort and energy, and in the end, it might not even be an accurate answer.
So we’ve done complete research on the ingredients used and what certification companies have to say on is magnum ice cream halal or haram? So let’s clear the doubts.
Is Magnum Ice Cream Halal
Most of the Magnum ice flavors are haram because it contains haram ingredients like animal-derived ingredients such as rennet and traces of Alcohol.
However, some Magnum ice creams are halal. These flavors usually have a Halal or vegan logo on their packaging, so it’s easy to identify them.
Otherwise, the Magnum ice cream has no halal or vegan certification, and therefore, it should be consumed with caution or avoided altogether for Muslims.
If you ask our opinion, we would say it’s best to avoid Magnum ice cream due to no clear halal and haram flavors list.
In Islam, it is taught that we should avoid anything we doubt being haram.
And in the case of Magnum ice cream, the company has no halal certification, no vegan certification, and no clear halal and haram flavors list.
The shocking thing is the company launched in 1989, and still, they cannot get Hala certification or clarify in a simple way which of their ice creams are halal.
If the company has the potential to get more customers just by adding halal certification, then why do they not do it? Maybe because most of their flavors are haram, and they don’t want to let people know.
This is why we advise Muslims to stay away from Magnum Ice Cream.
Note: Magnum Ice Cream might be halal-certified in some countries. And if you see Magnum Ice Cream packaging labeled halal, you may consider it halal. However, in major countries, including USA, UK, and Canada, the company has no halal certification and also no vegan certification.
If you like ice breakers, you can learn are ice breakers halal.
Proof Of Magnum Ice Cream Being Haram
If you think Magnum is a popular brand and it must be halal, then you are wrong. Here are a few proofs that Magnum ice cream is haram.
Reason 1: The company has no halal or vegan certification from any authority.
Reason 2: They are using animal derived ingredients like rennet and traces of Alcohol in their ice creams, which makes them haram according to Islamic laws.
Unilever gives this statement in private. Unilever is one of the biggest ice cream manufacturers, manufacturing Magnum Ice Creams.
For proof of this statement, you can check the below reply we got from Unilever. Otherwise, you can also contact them on 0800 7311507 and ask for them.
Reason 3: The Company itself is not halal certified. So, you can’t be sure if the ingredients used in any of their flavors are halal or haram.
Reason 4: The company on their official website has clearly mentioned they’re not halal certified and given some excuses for that.
This means they are aware of the fact but don’t want to get halal certification because most of their flavors are not halal-friendly.
You can also read is jam halal.
The ingredients used in Magnum ice cream vary from flavor to flavor. Some of the common ingredients are listed below:
- Milk solids, sugar, vegetable fat (Palm and/or coconut), Invert Syrup, Whey powder, Glucose Syrup, Emulsifiers (471, 476)
- Cocoa Powder (contains Emulsifier (322) from soya lecithin), Malt Extract, Natural Flavourings, and Artificial Flavouring
- Concentrated Cellulose Gum, Gelatine (preservative), Carrageenan, and Polydextrose.
It is noteworthy that some of these ingredients – like the animal-based rennet – are haram according to Islamic laws and, thus, make the magnum ice cream haram.
Also, some of these ingredients have traces of alcohol in them, which again is a strict no-no in Islam. So, consuming Magnum ice creams with such ingredients can be considered a sin.
See also is hartleys jelly halal.
Q. Is magnum ice cream halal in the UK?
No, Magnum ice cream is not halal-certified in the UK. The company has no vegan certification or halal certification from any authority. Instead, it is found that they are using animal derived ingredients like rennet and traces of Alcohol in their ice creams, which makes them haram according to Islamic laws.
Q. Are magnums halal?
No, Magnum is not certified halal. The company has no vegan certification or halal certification from any authority.
Q. Is magnum classic halal?
No, Magnum Classic is not certified halal. Magnum Classic doesn’t label halal or vegan, and the ingredients’ source is unclear, making it haram according to Islamic laws.
Q. Which magnum ice creams are halal?
The only halal magnum ice cream are those flavors with a Halal or vegan logo on their packaging.
Q. Can Muslims have Magnum ice cream?
No, Muslims should not consume Magnum ice cream due to a lack of halal certification or a clear list of ingredients. Muslims should avoid it and look for other alternatives.
Q. Is Magnum ice cream vegetarian?
No, not all Magnum ice creams are suitable for vegetarians. Some of them contain animal derived ingredients like rennet and traces of Alcohol which makes them non vegetarian.
To sum up, it is clear that due to a lack of halal certification and an unclear list of ingredients, Magnum ice cream is not suitable for Muslims.
So, we recommend avoiding it or looking for other halal ice alternatives.
If you’ve any further queries, like is Magnum ice cream halal, feel free to ask us in the comment section. We’ll be glad to help you.